Font Size


Menu Style


LENS · Laboratorio Europeo di Spettroscopie Non Linear

LENS logoExpertise in the field of the physics of light propagation and light-matter interaction in micro- and nanophotonics structures. Specific competences in disordered, quasi-crystalline and non-periodic systems, single-molecule optics and spectroscopy, plasmonics and near-field optics, quantum photonics, bi-dimensional IR spectroscopy of molecules in the ground and in the excited states.

Partner: LENS

Group Leader: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Website: http://www.lens.unifi.it/

Available Resources

Patented micro-infiltration system, confocal microscopes, near-field scanning microscope, 3D direct laser writing system, femto-second laser system, high-resolution spectrometers and optical characterization equipment, time-correlated single-photon counting, Helium-free cryostat. Transient IR and transient stimulated Raman spectroscopy.

Institutional Facilities: Chemical laboratory. Clean room. Electron microscope. Computer cluster. Mechanical and electronics workshop.

Key Personnel

DIEDERIK SYBOLT WIERSMA Born the 25th of December 1967 in Utrecht, received his master degree Cum Laude and his PhD degree at the University of Amsterdam in 1991 and 1995, respectively. He is full professor at the University of Florence and currently runs a research group of about 10 people at LENS. He has been responsible for 4 national projects on photonic crystals and random lasers, was deputy coordinator of the European Network of Excellence on Nanophotonics "Phoremost," comprising 34 European laboratories with a budget of 4.7 M€, and is co-founder of the Nanophotonics Europe Association. He currently runs an ERC Advanced Grant on nanophotonics and robotics, an industrial project on solar energy financed by ENI, and leads a SEED project on nanophotonics and fluidics financed by the Italian Institute for Technology (IIT). His research interests lay in the fundamental optical properties of photonics materials, in particular materials with periodic, random, or quasi-crystalline structure. He has delivered about 60 invited lectures and colloquia and authored many papers on this topic, amongst which 12 in Nature journals (including 3 cover stories) and 20 in the Physical Review Letters. He has been course director of 4 physics courses at the Center Ettore Majorana (Italy), director of the OSA Topical Meeting on Nano- and Metamaterials META (USA), and director of the International School of Physics "Enrico Fermi" (Italy). He received the Ugo Campisano award by the National Institute for the Physics of Matter (INFM) for his work on random lasing in 2004. Currently, he is a member of the editorial board of The Physical Review A.

MARIO AGIO studied physics at the University of Pavia and Iowa State University with Prof. Lucio Claudio Andreani and Prof. Costas M. Soukoulis, respectively. He graduated in 2003 with a thesis on semiconductor-based photonic crystals. In 2004 he joined the Nano-Optics group of Prof. Vahid Sandoghdar at ETH Zurich, where his research interests have broadened to single-molecule spectroscopy, near-field optics, and quantum optics. He was awarded the Prize of the Italian Physical Society for graduate students (2002) and the Latsis Prize of ETH Zurich (2010) for his accomplishments in nano-optics. In 2011 he received the Habilitation in Physical Chemistry from ETH Zurich. He is now with the National Institute of Optics (CNR-INO) and LENS in Florence. He is also Privat Dozent at the Laboratory of Physical Chemistry of ETH Zurich. He currently runs two SEED Projects on Nanophotonics for Energy Efficiency with industrial partners and he is implementing the COST Action MP1403 "Nanoscale Quantum Optics," which involves more than 20 high-tech companies and 50 research labs from Europe.

MATTEO BURRESI is Fellow Researcher at CNR-INO, Project Leader at LENS and Adjunct Professor at the University of Florence. He obtained his PhD degree in Physics in 2009 at the University of Twente, after four years of research at FOM Institute AMOLF, in Amsterdam. In 2012, he was appointed as Scientific Secretary of the First Course of the Joint EPS-SIF International School of Energy held in Varenna (Italy) and was invited as Lecturer at the Europhotonics Spring School (Erasmus Mundus) held in Pforzheim (Germany). Currently, his research invests various areas of micro- and nanophotonics, with particular attention to the study of light transport in engineered-disordered systems and light-driven mechanical tuning of optical micro-devices. He published several papers on nanophotonics for photovoltaics in international peer-review journals, such as Nature Materials, Optics Express and Optics Letters. He is also one of the inventors of an International PCT patent on the topic.

PAOLO FOGGI is full professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Perugia and is the leader of the Femtospectroscopy group at LENS. He is an expert in the field of the ultrafast electronic and vibrational dynamics of molecular and supramolecular systems in condensed phases. One of the major activities in the recent years is the characterization of energy and charge transfer processes in molecular and supramolecular systems for the efficient conversion of light into chemical and electrochemical energy. This research activity has been financed under several contracts. The most recent are "EPHODS - Efficiency and Photo-stability of Dye-based Sensitizer" project financed by Regione Toscana (POR FSE 2007-2013) and a contract with ENI DONEGANI aimed to the optimization of light energy conversion in dye-based solar concentrators.

COSTANZA TONINELLI is a group leader at LENS and researcher at INO-CNR since 2012. Born in 1979, she obtained her PhD degree in Physics at the University of Florence in 2007. Before setting up her own group, she worked as a postdoc at ETH Zurich for about 3 years. Building on her experience in AMO physics and nanophotonics, she currently runs experiments on hybrid photonic systems, where light matter interaction is controlled at the single-photon and single-emitter level. She was awarded the Caroline Von Humoldt prize for best young female researcher in 2012. Within N4E, she has coordinated in 2013 a SEED project on energy-efficient communications (OLEIT), including external partner to the Network. In 2015 she is scientific coordinator of the projects GRANCASSA financed by Ente Cassa di Risparmio di Firenze and Atom-Based Nanotechnology, funded by MIUR. Her research interests focus on the development of quantum technologies based on the coupling between quantum emitters and novel nanophotonic materials, such as graphene, hybrid plasmonic-dielectric structures or complex photonic networks.

You are here: About Partners Parter Profiles and Resources LENS · Laboratorio Europeo di Spettroscopie Non Linear